AMANTE EXTRAÑA

“I LOVE THAT I HAD TO WAIT THIS LONG TO BE ON THIS JOURNEY WITH YOU; WHILE I WAITED, I BECAME MORE OF THE BELOVED YOU HAD BEEN WAITING FOR…”
BUT I GUESS SO I THOUGHT

I REALLY LOVE YOU BLACK GIRL

I want to tell the whole world of a peculiar love story … … …

I met this enthralling damsel not too long after I had given my life to Christ.

I had given up every pleasure I had been chasing by now, only Christ meant anything to me at this point. I was so resolute in my decision to follow Him until I was lost in Him. 

I was in my 2nd year in the University by the time I became serious with pursuing Christ. By this time, my love for Him was tangible and I became committed in the campus fellowship. This led to me getting the opportunity to become one of the bible study coordinators in a small hostel quite a distant from my campus. She was in her first year, coming from a well-mannered background and a godly home, she spent most of her time in the hostel when she wasn’t in class, unlike others who were now like wild geese let out of their pens. Well, I would say I took notice of her love for God’s Word and how her contributions showed a heart that was seeking to know the Lord more and more.

After sometime at her hostel as a bible study leader, I became fond of her. I soon realized after drawing closer to her that apart from her quite reserved, yet interesting personality, she was humorous and a lovely person to hang around; Love lurks in unlikely places, you know. I later became the leader of the bible study group in her hostel and as required of us, visiting her hostel for check ups and inviting people for teaching service and to church became a usual trend. Best believe I was always extra excited about going there 😂. We built a good friendship and you would think we had been friends for ages. Our friendship clicked so well, on days when I didn’t have bible study, I would still visit her hostel ‘for the sake of souls’🤫 Well, it was expected of us to do such follow ups. I would find myself spending more time with her.

“I literally am a different person around you. I always just want to make you happy. I look out for anything I could do to make you happy. The most difficult sacrifice, maybe the only one there is, that I don’t know if I could easily make, was to live in this world without letting you know how I felt about you.”

30/11/2021 thoughts

After that semester came to close, I stayed back on campus to wait on God and finish a study I was doing. All throughout those times, I had become like a brother to her. Whether or not that was a mistake, I can’t tell but all I cared about was our friendship😂. I was quite hesitant at first to tell her how much I loved her because I was scared to mar our friendship. I knew I wasn’t expecting a relationship just then because I felt I needed some time.

Finally, I got to tell her that I had developed feelings for her and that I liked her. Well, now I know you should never tell a lady how you feel about her if you’re not ready for anything just yet. Someway somehow she pushed me away till we became close to strangers. Someone I once spoke to every single day had become a stranger.

Fast forward, it was after about 3 years, I had this call from ‘mi Amante Extraña’ and though I was quite surprised, we spoke at length, never talking about the silent period, and it was as if we never went silent for sometime. So the vibes picked up with time and I was a lot closer to her in no time. We didn’t get to talk about the silent period till after 2 years. I felt stupid for telling her about how I felt, it ruined our friendship for years. But here we were again, on this same path, everyone close advised that I be careful lest I break my heart. Well, love is quite careless, you know… and every doubt I had was dissolved in no time. We became really close once more and I felt that this was the time to tell her, because somewhere deep within my heart she was more than a friend. So I told her … … … The rest of the story remains untold 🌚

Not all love stories end on a good note, right? … It might just have been about friendship for one party and the other party ever waiting to be chosen.

I don’t think I had felt anything as strong and I don’t know if we are at the end of it all but we have obviously slipped into the place of being strangers once again.

The END?

Published by NesherOphel

I am reaching out to the world with the Gospel of Christ Jesus

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started